This Week In Books – 15 March 2017

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…


51CjX33VFBL._AC_US218_I have finally made a start on Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, which has been on my wishlist for absolutely ages. I’m only about 40 pages in and enjoying it so far – although it’s definitely a bit different! Here is the blurb…

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.
 
A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow impossible though it seems they may still be alive.

Then…

If you spotted my Tuesday Teaser yesterday, you will know I was busy reading The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton, which as planned I finished last night.  I enjoyed this book a lot, and although I had a lot of theories at to what was going to happen, I was proved wrong pretty much every step of the way! I’ll post a review later this week.

I recently read and enjoyed The Lifeboat by Charlotte Roganyou can see my review here. Last week I also read The House at the Edge of the World by Julia Rochester, which tells the story of two twins who are completely devoted to each other, but whose lives fall apart when their father falls from a cliff when they are 18. This was a quirky, unusual read which I did enjoy in the main, although the characters weren’t particularly likeable!

Next…

41Q5R5WNRRL._AC_US218_51A7cevtrgL._AC_US218_Last weekend I went to see the film Lion, which I really enjoyed and would definitely recommend – but be sure to pack some tissues! The film is based on a true story and the book the film was based on, originally called A Long Way Home, had been on my wishlist for a long time, and seeing the film finally prompted me to buy it. So I’ll be reading that soon. 

I also finally got my hands on Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin – I have loved the other books of hers that I have read so I’m looking forward to reading this one. 

If you’ve posted about your recent reads, feel free to link to it here! 

11 thoughts on “This Week In Books – 15 March 2017

  1. dez | the fun in reading books says:

    I’ve been meaning to see the film Lion but until now haven’t!! Maybe I’ll get to watch it one of these days. Also, I’m glad you enjoyed it. Enjoy your books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

