This Week In Books – 14 December 2016

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…
homeI am almost halfway through Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi. It is brilliantly written, and a fascinating read, but I am struggling at times with the big leaps forward in time and the sometimes abrupt changes of character! Every time I pick it up again I have to spend a while working out where I am and who the characters are!  

Effia and Esi: two sisters with two very different destinies. One sold into slavery; one a slave trader’s wife. The consequences of their fate reverberate through the generations that follow. Taking us from the Gold Coast of Africa to the cotton-picking plantations of Mississippi; from the missionary schools of Ghana to the dive bars of Harlem, spanning three continents and seven generations, Yaa Gyasi has written a miraculous novel – the intimate, gripping story of a brilliantly vivid cast of characters and through their lives the very story of America itself.

Then…

41jybr3bj9l-_ac_us160_I recently finished Holding by Graham Norton, which I really enjoyed despite not particularly being a fan of his! It was quite a fun read overall, and my review will be posted soon. 

I also read Learning to Speak American by Colette Dartford, which was chosen by my book group. I have to admit it wasn’t my sort of book at all and it didn’t really do it for me! 

Next…

61d3vgv1w8l-_ac_us160_I said it last week, but this time I really do plan to read Hold Back The Stars by Katie Khan next! I also have a stack of Netgalley ARCs to get through which I really hope to make a dent in before Christmas.

What are you reading now, then and next?

10 thoughts on “This Week In Books – 14 December 2016

Leave a Reply

