This Week In Books – 7 November 2016

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…


51b8hryxz3l-_ac_us160_I’ve made a start on Sister of My Heart by Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni. Set in India, the story is about two cousins that grow up together and are incredibly close. From the blurb I know that they are going to be separated, so I am really interested to find out what will become of them:

Sudha and Anju are cousins. Closer even than sisters, they share clothes, possessions, worries, dreams – and three mothers, who preside over the matriarchal Chatterjee household. But when Sudha learns a terrible secret about the past, and hides it from her cousin, their mutual loyalty is sorely tested.

As the day of leaving school draws near, a family crisis forces the cousins to abandon their university plans, and their mothers swiftly start the serious business of arranging their marriages. And thus the inseparable pair is torn apart. But although they have both been trained to be perfect wives, nothing has prepared them for the great challenges, for the pain as well as the joy, that each will have to face in her new life.

Then…

51HR3wsrKrL._AC_UL320_SR214,320_   51uhQF5XZSL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_41gelzv8qcl-_ac_us160_51ua9zrqydl-_sx325_bo1204203200_So I finished Shtum by Jem Lester, and my review will be posted tomorrow. Also as promised last week, I finally got round to reading two young adult novels that have been sitting on my shelf for months – Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon and When We Collided by Emery Lord. I enjoyed both of them a lot.

I also finally got round to reading my review copy of The Beautiful Dead by Belinda Bauer, which is a crime thriller that managed to mix gore and humour in a really intriguing and well written way.61d3vgv1w8l-_ac_us160_

Next…

I’m really looking forward to reading my review copy of Hold Back The Stars by Katie Khan. How pretty is that cover?! 

What are you reading now, then and next?

10 comments

Leave a Reply

