This Week In Books – 30 November 2016

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…

41gelzv8qcl-_ac_us160_I’m about two thirds of the way through Shtum by Jem Lester, which is a book I had heard a lot about so was really pleased to get a proof version to read via Netgalley. It’s a very difficult read at times, focusing as it does on the father of an autistic little boy, but the author manages to inject the story with humour and some light relief. Here’s the blurb…

Ben Jewell has hit breaking point. His ten-year-old son, Jonah, has never spoken. So when Ben and Jonah are forced to move in with Ben’s elderly father, three generations of men – one who can’t talk; two who won’t – are thrown together. As Ben battles single fatherhood, a string of well-meaning social workers and his own demons, he learns some difficult home truths. Jonah, blissful in his innocence, becomes the prism through which all the complicated strands of personal identity, family history and misunderstanding are finally untangled.

Then…

51wvla9hrul-_ac_us160_51ugm6rsgql-_ac_us160_Earlier this week I read I Saw A Man by Owen Sheers, which gripped me from the start … but then kind of fizzled out. I also read Born Under A Million Shadows by Andrea Busfield, which had a wonderful young narrator, but fell down a bit on the actual plot! 

Next…

 

51HR3wsrKrL._AC_UL320_SR214,320_51uhQF5XZSL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_As always, there are a stack of books I need to get through. But the books I plan to read next (although I am sure they have appeared on my ‘next’ list in the past!) are Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon, which I have heard nothing but glowing praise for, and When We Collided by Emery Lord.

What are you reading now, then and next?

5 thoughts on “This Week In Books – 30 November 2016

Leave a Reply

