This Week In Books – 23 November 2016

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…


51ugm6rsgql-_ac_us160_I am just about to start Born Under A Million Shadows by Andrea Busfield, which is a book that was on my wishlist for ages but I have only just got round to buying. The blurb doesn’t exactly make it sound like the most cheerful of books as you can see…

The Taliban have disappeared from Kabul’s streets, but the long shadows of their brutal regime remain. In his short life eleven-year-old Fawad has known more grief than most: his father and brother have been killed, his sister has been abducted, and Fawad and his mother, Mariya, must rely on the charity of family to eke out a hand-to-mouth existence.
Then Mariya finds a position as housekeeper for a charismatic western woman, Georgie, and Fawad dares to hope for an end to their struggle. He soon discovers that his beloved Georgie is caught up in a dangerous love affair with the powerful Afghan warlord Haji Khan. But even a man as influential as Haji Khan can’t protect Fawad from the next tragedy to blight his young life, a tragedy so devastating that it threatens to destroy the one thing Fawad thought he could never lose: his love for his country.

Let’s hope it doesn’t leave me feeling too depressed!

Then…

41bqb3nq56l-_sx307_bo1204203200_This week I have read The Mermaids Singing by Lucy Carey, which I picked up in a charity shop for a few pennies. It is the story of three generations of women and it is set in Ireland and America. I really enjoyed the book, despite the fact that none of the characters are very likeable! I had never heard of the author before but I am keen to check out more of her novels on the strength of this one. My review will be up soon.

Next…41pmcsd04l-_sx322_bo1204203200_ download

I picked up two books in the library this morning – Jesus Man by Christos Tsiolkas and Late Night in Montreal by Emily St John Mandel, so one of these may well be next on my reading list.

What are you reading now, then and next?

11 thoughts on “This Week In Books – 23 November 2016

  1. I’ll be very interested to hear what you think of Last Night in Montreal. I didn’t enjoy Station Eleven as much as everyone else seemed too, but the writing was wonderful so I’d like to read something else by St John Mandell.

    Thank you for visiting my WWW and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have Station Eleven at home and have been meaning to read that for some time. I hope that you enjoy Last Night in Montreal.

    Born Under a Million Shadows has caught my eye too! I hope that you enjoy that one as well 🙂
    Thanks for visiting my WWW Wednesday post!
    Happy Reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

