This Week In Books – 16 November 2016

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…
starsI’m currently reading a Netgalley proof of Stars Over Clear Lake by Loretta Elsworth, which is a really sweet novel set mainly during and after World Way II. It’s probably more of a romance novel than my usual books, but in the main I’m enjoying it. The blurb…

For the first time in decades, Lorraine Kindred has returned to the ballroom where she was swept away by the big bands during the 1940s and by a star-crossed romance. As she takes in the magnificent energy and brassy sounds of her youth, the past comes to life, along with the fateful decision all those years ago that forced her to choose between personal conviction and social expectation, between the two men who had captured her heart. It had been a time of great music and love, but also of war and sacrifice, and now, trying to make peace with her memories, Lorraine must find the courage to face buried secrets. In the process, she will rediscover herself, her passion, and her capacity for resilience.

Then…

51uqfv9szrl-_ac_us160_exitI’m definitely playing Netgalley catch-up at the moment, and I have recently finished two other proofs – Exit West by Mohsin Hamid, and Three Daughters of Eve by Elif Shafak. Sadly I was a bit disappointed with both of these – especially the Shafak novel. I will get my reviews up here shortly.

Next…

51udsu3iadl-_ac_us160_ I borrowed Asking for It by Louise O’Neill from the library ages ago, and I can;t renew it any more times so I’ll be reading this next! I must admit I’ve been putting it off due to the unpleasant subject matter, but I will definitely be reading it next.

What are you reading now, then and next?

5 comments

  1. I’m reading “Second Forgetting: Remembering the Power of the Gospel During Alzheimer’s Disease” by Dr. Benjamin Mast. I recently finished an ebook of “Burning September” by Melissa Simonson (two stars). Next, I’ll be reading “All the Ugly and Wonderful Things” by Bryn Greenwood.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

