This Week In Books – 9 November 2016

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

I have got soooo behind with my book reviews, and am only just getting round to posting the books that I listed in the “then” pile here last week! Last night I scheduled six more reviews to go out over the next ten days or so, so have hopefully now caught up. So onto this week…

Now…


leonI’ve just started My Name is Leon by Kit de Waal, which I have heard many good things about. 

Leon is nine, and has a perfect baby brother called Jake. They have gone to live with Maureen, who has fuzzy red hair like a halo, and a belly like Father Christmas. But the adults are speaking in low voices, and wearing Pretend faces. They are threatening to give Jake to strangers. Since Jake is white and Leon is not.

Evoking a Britain of the early eighties, My Name is Leon is a heart-breaking story of love, identity and learning to overcome unbearable loss. Of the fierce bond between siblings. And how – just when we least expect it – we manage to find our way home.

Then…

download 41ejae0lqml 51ubocc8e3l-_sx316_bo1204203200_ manyI’ve read a few very quick reads, which probably explains partly why I have got so behind with my reviews. For One More Day by Mitch Albom was probably the quickest read as it took me just a few hours, and it really was a touching book that I thoroughly enjoyed. I can’t say the same for The Many by Wyl Menmuir, which I think was a bit too clever – or maybe just dull – for me.

I also read two thrillers, Afterwards by Rosamund Lupton and While You Were Sleeping by Kathryn Croft. I thought both were a bit ridiculous, but while I skimmed through one, I found I couldn’t put down the other, despite finding it all very implausible. 

Reviews of all the above are written and will be coming soon!

Next…

swingsel
I have a lot of NetGalley Advance Review Copies to get through, some of which I’m really excited about. I was delighted to be approved to read the new Zadie Smith novel Swing Time and Aravind Adiga’s Selection Day. I also requested about 20 more and was approved for most of them, and I have no idea when I will get round to reading them all! 

What are you reading now, then and next?

3 comments

Leave a Reply

