This Week In Books – 2 November 2016

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…

41gr7kizr8l-_ac_us160_I’m just about to start Hotel du Lac by Anita Brookner. The author died earlier this year, having written 24 novels – and I am ashamed to say I haven’t read a single one of them! So hopefully I will enjoy this as I have an extensive back catalogue to dip into if I do. Here’s the blurb…

The Hotel du Lac was a dignified building, a house of repute, a traditional establishment, used to welcoming the prudent, the well-to-do, the retired, the self-effacing, the respected patrons of an earlier era.

Into the rarefied atmosphere of the Hotel du Lac timidly walks Edith Hope, romantic novelist and holder of modest dreams. Edith has been exiled from home after embarrassing herself and her friends. She has refused to sacrifice her ideals and remains stubbornly single. But among the pampered women and minor nobility Edith finds Mr Neville, and her chance to escape from a life of humiliating loneliness is renewed . . .

Then…

downloads41bfjtd5sl-_ac_us160_I have just finished the much-hyped The Girls by Emma Cline, which I enjoyed reading but definitely wasn’t blown away by. Based on the Charles Manson affair, you know what’s going to happen before it does which took the edge off it for me a bit! 

I’ll also be reviewing Atlas of Unknowns by Tania James, which I really enjoyed despite it being a little too long. It’s a lovely tale of two sisters from India and their experiences when one sister travels to the US – although her whole journey is based on a lie…

I also finished The Sealed Letter by Emma Donoghue, which I have to admit I found disappointing overall. I never fully engaged with any of the characters and this affected by enjoyment of the novel.

Reviews of all these to come!

Next…


manydownloadI’ll be starting The Many by Wyn Menmuir shortly as this was chosen for my November book group. It was on the Man Booker longlist, which can set alarm bells ringing for me, but I’m hoping I might like this one – and if I don’t at least it is under 200 pages! 

I’ll also be reading another short book – For One More Day by Mitch Albon, which I picked up for 50p in a charity shop at the weekend. I’ve read several other Albon books and loved two and disliked two, so let’s see which way this one tips the scales.

What are you reading now, then and next?

2 thoughts on “This Week In Books – 2 November 2016

  1. Last week was “The Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins, this week is “The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir” by Jennifer Ryan and next is “Burning September” by Melissa Simonson.

    Like

Leave a Reply

