This Week In Books – 19 October 2016

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…


512s8n7v9ol-_ac_us160_I’m around 80 pages in to The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald. It’s about a girl in her late 20s who travels from Sweden to a small town in Ohio to meet up with an elderly penpal with whom she shared a love of books. However, when she arrives, all is not as she had hoped! 

I’m really enjoying this so far – it reminds me of Anne Tyler in some ways – but I have a bad feeling it’s going to turn into a full-blown romance which I could do without! But in the main I really like it and I’m looking forward to reading more of it soon.

Then…


51qgzpthj0l-_ac_us160_Earlier this week I read The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker. The premise of the novel is that the rotation of the earth is gradually slowing, throwing the world into disarray, and we follow our narrator Julia and she and her family cope with the crisis. It isn’t exactly an action-packed novel – in fact not much happens at all – and the characters aren’t always the most exciting either, yet I did enjoy reading the book. I’ll get a review up soon.

Next…



51wmiu9fpxl-_ac_us160_
I’m sure I’ve mentioned this one before but I’m definitely going to read His Bloody Project by Graeme Burnet next.

What are you reading now, then and next?

8 comments

  1. I saw His Bloody Project mentioned on another blog last week – it looks really good.
    I had Readers of Broken Wheel on my TBR for ages but it kept slipping down the priority list because lots of reviews were of the “it’s ok, but not fantastic” variety. Nevertheless it sounds like a fun read. Perhaps a good one if you need cheering up?

    Thanks for visiting my post (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/10/19/www-wednesday-19th-october-2016/) and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

