This Week In Books – 5 October 2016

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…

511egdsizyl-_ac_us160_I am about three quarters of the way through The History of Us by Jonathan Harvey. I really liked the start of the book, but the further I go on, the more it seems to lose its way, and I really haven’t taken to any of the characters. I’m struggling to finish it but will try and read the rest this evening. Here is the blurb…

Liverpool 1985
Kathleen, Adam and Jocelyn are three teenage friends who bond over an unconventional nativity play. They all have ambitions, they all have dreams. Adam wants to be a writer, Jocelyn wants to sing and Kathleen – well, she wants to be an embalmer.
London 2015

Kathleen is a borderline alcoholic, Adam is holding on to a shocking secret and Jocelyn is dead. Where did it all go wrong? How did having the world at their feet turn into having the weight of it on their shoulders?

Then…51sebyhy8gl-_sx324_bo1204203200_5138zbaqt4l-_ac_us160_

I finished The Graces by Laure Eve which I have to admit I wasn’t mad about – but then maybe witchcraft isn’t really my thing?! I’ll aim to post a review here when I get a chance. I also started Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh, which is shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, but in all honesty I couldn’t get into it at all and put it down after not very many pages!

Next…
51wmiu9fpxl-_ac_us160_sfTalking of the Man Booker Prize, I found His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Burnet in the library, which I have been hearing a lot about since it was also shortlisted, so I will be giving this a go soon, and I hope it’s better than Eileen. I’ve also got two Emma Donoghue books on my shelf – Frog Music and The Sealed Letter – which I am looking forward to after enjoying The Wonder so much!

What are you reading now, then and next?

4 comments

  1. Just finished The Devil’s Prayer. It had a touch of the Da Vinci Code. Not bad at all. I’ve read only one book by Emma Donoghue -Room – and that quite blew me away. Must check out these others. Will look out for your reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

