This Week In Books – 13 July 2016

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…


51E2od1ylwL._AC_US160_I’m poised to start The Locust and The Bird by Hanan Al-Shaykh, which is actually a novel about the author’s mother. 

The blurb:

Kamila is nine years old when she is taken from the poverty of her childhood village in southern Lebanon to Beirut. She has never learned to read or write though she longs to go to school. Stories, poetry and film are her passion – and a beautiful boy called Muhammad. They fall in love before Kamila is forced into an arranged marriage, despite her tears and screams. She is only fourteen years old.

Beautifully evoking the dusty streets of Beirut and life in Lebanon, this is a heartbreaking memoir of an extraordinary woman.

Then…

51V9Csza11L._AC_US160_I’ve read several books in the past week, and my reviews will be posted in the coming days. I loved one of them – The Museum of You by Carys Bray – and was pretty indifferent to the other three, which were The Reader by Bernhard Schlink, What We Left Behind by Robin Talley and Headlong by Michael Frayn. Let’s hope I enjoy more than one of four of my next books!

Next…

5177c9a29UL._AC_US160_I have the new(ish) Stephen King sitting unread on my bookshelf. It has been years since I have read any King so I’m really looking forward to it! 

I was also very pleased to find the young adult novel Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher in a charity shop for a mere 50p the other day, as this has been on my wishlist for ages. And finally, I picked up The Ship by Antonia Honeywell in the library, which I am intrigued by and plan to read soon.

What are you reading now, then and next?

8 thoughts on “This Week In Books – 13 July 2016

    • Hi, I finished the book yesterday but was a bit underwhelmed sadly. Yes, it was set in Beirut and this setting was interesting – but the book fell down in other areas I felt. Review to come!

      Like

Leave a Reply

