This Week In Books – 6 July 2016

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…

downloadI’m almost done with Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard – a young adult novel that I am absolutely loving! It is about two girls who have been best friends forever – until things are turned upside-down when mysterious new girl Suzanne moves into town. I will definitely finish this today – in fact I intend to start reading it the first chance I get! I really like the way it is written. The dialogue is convincing and the characters are really interesting. It is also a bit darker than I thought it would be at first.

Then…download41UDhf5NCVL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

A few days ago, I read The End of Everything by Megan Abbott, which turned out to be a pretty disturbing novel narrated by a 13-year-old girl who is at once both scarily grown-up yet very naive. I liked it overall – I think!

I also finished What Milo Saw by Virginia MacGregor which I had looked forward to reading so much, but was actually quite disappointed with in the end. It didn’t really live up to my expectations.

Next…51miozB1mdL._UY250_ 51V9Csza11L._AC_US160_

I’ve still not started either of my July book club reads, so I really need to crack on with those. I am looking forward to one of them – The Museum of You by Carys Bray – and not really at all excited about the other – Headlong by Michael Frayn. Maybe I’ll be pleasantly surprised and enjoy both!

What are you reading now, then and next?

11 comments

  1. I read Skios by Michael Frayn for a book club read and it was very farcical and slapstick. It wasn’t my cup of tea, I don’t know if all his writing is like that but I can totally understand your trepidation. I guess this is why we go to book clubs, to test ourselves and push our comfort zones. My book club read this month certainly did. Good luck! 😉

    Thank you for visitng my post already – https://bookboodle.co.uk/2016/07/06/www-wednesday-july-6th

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

