This Week In Books – 29 June 2016

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…

downloadI am an impressive five whole pages into What Milo Saw by Virginia Macgregor, which I have wanted to read for absolutely ages! I do tend to like a child narrator so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy this one. Here’s the synopsis…

Nine-year-old Milo Moon has retinitis pigmentosa: his eyes are slowly failing and he will eventually go blind. But for now he sees the world through a pin hole and notices things other people don’t. When Milo’s beloved gran succumbs to dementia and moves into a nursing home, Milo soon realises there’s something wrong at the home. So with just Tripi, the nursing home’s cook, and Hamlet, his pet pig, to help, Milo sets out on a mission to expose the nursing home and the sinister Nurse Thornhill.

Then…

51ctjRmDqcL._AC_US160_Yesterday I finished The Book of Lost and Found by Lucy Foley, which I absolutely adored. I bought the book 100% based on the front cover, and I’m glad it paid off! 

I also recently finished the ridiculously long-titled If I Knew You Were Going to be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go by Judy Chicurel. I have mixed feelings on this one as I loved it to begin with …. but then realised that nothing was actually happening. 

Reviews of both books to come! 

Next…

51miozB1mdL._UY250_
I’ve bought a load of books recently so have tons to get through – which isn’t unusual, admittedly. One of these, Headlong by Michael Frayn, was chosen by my book club and sounds really dull so I’m not looking forward to it at all – but am going to force myself to read it! 

Here’s the blurb:

A tale of historical investigation and comic invention. Invited to assess some old paintings, an easily-distracted philosopher is convinced that one of them is a lost work by Breughel. He risks everything he has in the effort to establish its provenance and trick it from its owner’s possession.

Zzzzzz……

Have you ever forced yourself to read a book you thought you’d hate, but been pleasantly surprised?

What are you reading now, then and next?

5 thoughts on “This Week In Books – 29 June 2016

Leave a Reply

