This Week In Books – 1 June 2016

download (2)
This meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

My calendar tells me it’s 1 June, but looking out of the window, the weather tells me it’s November. Come on summer! I hate the cold weather so I’m feeling very grumpy at the moment. Luckily, I have a good book on the go so this is helping cheer me up – a bit…

Now…

51YdEJEh4RL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_I was so delighted to receive an advance copy of To the Edge of the Bright World by Eowyn Ivey, who wrote The Snow Child which I loved! This is quite different and I won’t pretend I wasn’t a bit wary given the content matter, but actually I’m finding it really interesting and well written.

The blurb:

Lieutenant Colonel Allen Forrester receives the commission of a lifetime when he is charged to navigate Alaska’s hitherto impassable Wolverine River, with only a small group of men. The Wolverine is the key to opening up Alaska and its rich natural resources to the outside world, but previous attempts have ended in tragedy.

Forrester leaves behind his young wife, Sophie, newly pregnant with the child he had never expected to have. Adventurous in spirit, Sophie does not relish the prospect of a year in a military barracks while her husband carves a path through the wilderness. What she does not anticipate is that their year apart will demand every ounce of courage and fortitude of her that it does of her husband.

Then…

I finished The Mirror World of Melody Black by Gavin Extence – but I have to admit it was a struggle.
I also discovered a book on my Kindle that I had no memory of downloading – Shelter Us by Laura Nicole Diamond. I really enjoyed this novel which dealt with serious issues in a believable way.

I’ll get my reviews of both up shortly!

Next…

31ctVxQpz8L._AC_US160_Dead Ends by Erin Lange has been sitting on my bookshelf for a while so this may well be next! It’s a young adult novel about two boys who seem very different on the surface – but have a lot more in common than they may think…

What are you reading now, then and next?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

