Book review: The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

The book:

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
Published in 2014 by Mira
Pages: 384
Book 9 in my January Kindle Challenge


The blurb:Product Details

Mia Dennett can’t resist a one-night stand with the enigmatic stranger she meets in a bar.

But going home with him might turn out to be the worst mistake of Mia’s life…

My thoughts…

Earlier this month I read Pretty Baby by the same author, and as I quite enjoyed that I decided to check out Kubica’s earlier novel The Good Girl. We are plunged straight into the action and soon find out that Mia had disappeared for several months but is now home. We have three different narrator’s – Mia’s mother Eve, detective Gabe and ‘kidnapper’ Colin – and the action takes place both before and after Mia’s return. As the novel progresses we gradually piece together what has happened, and we find out a lot more about the characters along the way. As well as the narrators, this includes Mia herself, as well as her pantomime villain of a father! 

With different narrators and a mixed up chronology, I found this book was best read in long bursts so you could keep track of who was who and what was going on. I soon found myself quite gripped by this book, and it was interesting that we know Mia has come out of her ordeal alive, but are never quite sure how she has got there. It’s also clear that there is going to be a sting in the tail at some point. This twist comes at the very end of the novel, by which point I had come up with all sorts of possible twists – including the actual one! 

But this didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the book. I read most of it over the course of one day, and found that I was quite gripped by it and really wanted to know how everything would eventually come together. 

You could probably pick a lot of holes in this book, but if you take it at face value then it’s a good, enjoyable read, and ideal for a long flight or train journey! 

My rating: 8 out of 10

One comment

Leave a Reply

