Top reads of 2015 – number 13

Product DetailsFunny, unique, warm and wonderful – coming in at at number 13 is Mr Loverman – indisputably one of my fave reads of the year.

Mr Loverman by Bernardine Evaristo

74-year-old Barrington has lived in Hackney, east London for 50 years, has a wife, two daughters – and a massive secret. He’s gay, and has been in a relationship with another man for 60 years.

Barry’s narrative is brilliant. He is funny and has a very unique style of talking. He has nothing good to say about his wife Carmel … but then Barry’s narrative is interspersed with short passages from Carmel herself, which give us a whole new perspective on the story.

I adored this book, and I loved Barry who is funny despite being a major idiot some of the time. Carmel’s sections irritated me at first but I soon realised added a lot to this book which in the end I couldn’t fault. Loved it!

Read my full review here…

 

Leave a Reply

