This Week In Books – 2.9.2015

ThisWeekInBooksThis meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…

I am just about to start Never Far From Nowhere by Angela Levy. It’s the only novel of hers that I haven’t read so I’m really looking forward to it. The blurb…

neverThis is the story of two sisters, Olive and Vivien, born in London to Jamaican parents and brought up on a council estate. They go to the same grammar school, but while Vivien’s life becomes a chaotic mix of friendships, youth clubs, skinhead violence, A-levels, discos and college, Olive, three years older and a skin shade darker, has a very different tale to tell…

Then…

spool

I was really busy throughout August, but I did manage to read quite a few books, including a play, which is unusual for me, and the latest Anne Tyler novel. I’ll be posting reviews here over the coming days! You can also read my review of the psychological thriller Her by Harriet Lane here

avaYesterday I finished The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton. It’s about a girl who was born with wings – and honestly this is about the least strange thing about this novel! But I really enjoyed this unusual and lovely novel, and I’ll get a review up soon.


Next…

cityI have my September book club book to read – City of Thieves by David Benioff – which is quite a long novel for me at 400 or so pages …. and the story is about two men looking for eggs during World War II. So I’m interested to see how I get on with it!

What are you reading now, then and next?

4 thoughts on “This Week In Books – 2.9.2015

Leave a Reply

