This Week In Books – 27.5.2015

ThisWeekInBooksThis meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…

Yesterday I started reading Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth – it’s a kind of a mix of fairy tale, fantasy and historical fiction – none of which are really my thing but I liked the cover and am intrigued by the premise, which is a re-working of Rapunzel:

bitter greensCharlotte-Rose de la Force, exiled from the court of King Louis XIV, has always been a great talker and teller of tales. Selena Leonelli, once the exquisite muse of the great Venetian artist Tiziano, is terrified of time. Margherita, trapped in a doorless tower and burdened by tangles of her red-gold hair, must find a way to escape. You may think you know the story of Rapunzel …

Although I’m only about 40 pages in, I have already had to head to Wikipedia to do a little research – Charlotte-Rose de la Force was actually the author of what later became Rapunzel in the 17th century, and so far the novel has focused on her as she is forced to live in a nunnery. She is a very intriguing, feisty character and I’m really enjoying the novel so far. It is quite a hefty read so I need to try and make more headway with it soon…

Then…girl who just appeared

Last week I read The Girl Who Just Appeared by Jonathan Harvey – I really enjoyed this novel that was funny and sad all at once, and dealt with serious issues using over-the-top characters. You can read my review here. I also read Morgan’s Passing by Anne Tyler – Tyler is one of my favourite authors and this is one of the few books of hers I had yet to read. But sadly I found the book quite disappointing – it was a bit dull and just lacked the sparkle of Tyler’s other novels.


Next…

I’m not quite sure yet – I think I’ll choose something from my big pile of library books.

What are you reading now, then and next?

5 thoughts on “This Week In Books – 27.5.2015

Leave a Reply

