This Week In Books – 20.5.2015

ThisWeekInBooksThis meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…

I have just pick up The Girl Who Just Appeared by Jonathan Harvey – I have yet to read a word of it but it sounds interesting:

girl who just appearedLondon 2014. Holly Smith has never fitted in. Adopted when just a few months old, she’s always felt she was someone with no history, the girl who just appeared. 

Liverpool 1981. Fifteen-year-old Darren negotiates life with his errant mother and the younger brother he is bringing up. When the
Toxteth Riots explode around him Darren finds himself with a moral dilemma that will have consequences for the rest of his life.

Flitting between the present and the past, we discover how Darren and Holly’s lives become intertwined. Will Holly uncover the secrets of her past? Or will she always feel like the girl who just appeared?

Then…hen who dreamed

I’ve had a few reading disasters this past week. I read The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly by Sun-Mi Hwang, which was a very short but quite sweet book – but kind of felt like reading a children’s book! I then started to read Five Star Billionaire by Tash Aw, but after 100 pages I was bored and pretty indifferent to all the characters, and couldn’t muster the interest to read on.

Then I read What Was Lost by Catherine O’Flynn. I found this to be dull too and ended up skim reading the last 70 or so pages.

So I’ve not had much luck – I do hope The Girl Who Just Appeared restores my faith in novels!

morgan's apssingNext…

As always my shelves are bursting with books I need to read, and I seem to keep adding this to this pile! But next I think I will read Morgan’s Passing by Anne Tyler – one of my favourite authors, and one of the few books I have left of hers that I am yet to read!

What are you reading now, then and next?

12 comments

  1. I hope your faith in reading can be restored! It’s terrible what a bad book can do do your reading pace. Good luck! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

