This Week In Books – 6.5.2015

ThisWeekInBooksThis meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…

my real childrenI have just started reading My Real Children by Jo Walton. Here’s the blurb….

It is 2015 and Patricia Cowan is very old. ‘Confused today’ read the notes clipped to the end of her bed. Her childhood, her years at Oxford during the Second World War – those things are solid in her memory. Then that phone call and her memory splits in two.

She was Trish, a housewife and mother of four.

She was Pat, a successful travel writer and mother of three.

She remembers living her life as both women, so very clearly. Which memory is real – or are both just tricks of time and light?

Sounds intriguing, doesn’t it? I haven’t read much of this yet but I’m looking forward to getting into it as the week progresses.

Then…dare me

Over the weekend I finished Dare Me by Megan Abbott, which is a pretty dark insight into the world of cheerleading. My review can be read here. I also finished The Boy That Never Was by Karen Perry.

Next…

honourLast month, I was a volunteer for World Book Night, and the book I gave out was Honour by Elif Shafak. I gave copies to members of my book club, and we are going to read it for our May meeting, so I will be starting this one next.

A bit more about the book….

Leaving her twin sister behind, Pembe leaves Turkey for love – following her husband Adem to London. There the Topraks hope to make new lives for themselves and their children. Yet, no matter how far they travel, the traditions and beliefs the Topraks left behind stay with them – carried in the blood.

Their eldest is the boy Iskender, who remembers Turkey and feels betrayal deeper than most. His sister is Esma, who is loyal and true despite the pain and heartache. And, lastly, Yunus, who was born in London, and is shy and different.

Trapped by the mistakes of the past, the Toprak children find their lives shattered and transformed by a brutal act of murder . . .

What are you reading now, then and next?

8 comments

  1. Ack! I picked up a copy of My Real Children a year ago when it came out… can’t believe I still haven’t gotten to it. It sounds like something I’d love (I thought so then too!), so this is just a total FAIL on my part. I hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I finished it late yesterday and had quite mixed feelings about it to be honest … I would love to hear what you think if you ever get round to reading it. And my review will appear here in a day or two…

      Like

Leave a Reply

