This Week In Books – 29.4.2015

ThisWeekInBooksThis meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…

 I’m currently reading Last Man In Tower by Aravind Adiga, who wrote Man Booker prize-winning novel White Tiger.

 last man21st Century Mumbai is a city of new money and soaring real estate, and property kingpin Dharmen Shah has grand plans for its future. His offer to buy and tear down a weathered tower block, making way for luxury apartments, will make each of its residents rich – if all agree to sell. But not everyone wants to leave; many of the residents have lived there for a lifetime, many of them are no longer young. As tensions rise among the once civil neighbours, one by one those who oppose the offer give way to the majority, until only one man stands in Shah’s way: Masterji, a retired schoolteacher, once the most respected man in the building.

I’m currently about half way through this and I’m really enjoying it. The novel has a big cast of characters, but it works really well so far, and the book manages to be funny, educational and satirical all at once.

Then…

Earlier this week, I finished Repercussions by Catherine Hall, which I really enjoyed. Review to appear here tomorrow I hope!

Next…

 

It will be something from my massive pile of library books, but not sure what yet….

What are you reading now, then and next?

6 comments

  1. I haven’t read any Adiga before, but I like the sound of this one more than White Tiger. I’ll check back for your thoughts on it! Have a good week 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

