This Week In Books – 22.4.2015

ThisWeekInBooksThis meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…

repercussionsI just finished a book last night, and the new book I picked off my shelf this morning is The Repercussions by Catherine Hall. Here’s the blurb…

When war photographer Jo returns from her latest assignment in Afghanistan and moves into the Brighton flat she’s just inherited, she hopes to restore equilibrium to her chaotic life. But images and events of her recent past and the reading of her great-grandmother Elizabeth’s diary haunt her night and day, forcing Jo to come to terms with demons she thought she could leave behind…

I’ll be starting this later today, so look out for a review some time next week I hope!

Then…you

I’m finally back to work after a few weeks off over Easter, which means I’m reading more again! I have finished a few books in the last week or so, and I have a bit of a backlog of reviews to write and post!

I recently finished The Magic Toyshop by Angela Carter – I loved the oddness of this book, and you can read my review here.

Earlier this week I finished Nora Webster by Colm Toibin, which I found a bit disappointing – I’ll be posting a review shortly.

And yesterday I read You by Nuala Ni Chonchuir. I finished it in one day and really enjoyed it. Again, review to follow.

Next…

last manI want to get started on Last Man In Tower by Aravind Adiga – it is part of my TBR Pile Challenge for this year, and I want to read it before the month is out. Here’s the blurb – I love the sound of it!

21st Century Mumbai is a city of new money and soaring real estate, and property kingpin Dharmen Shah has grand plans for its future. His offer to buy and tear down a weathered tower block, making way for luxury apartments, will make each of its residents rich – if all agree to sell. But not everyone wants to leave; many of the residents have lived there for a lifetime, many of them are no longer young. As tensions rise among the once civil neighbours, one by one those who oppose the offer give way to the majority, until only one man stands in Shah’s way: Masterji, a retired schoolteacher, once the most respected man in the building.

What are you reading now, then and next?

5 comments

  1. The Last Man In Tower novel sounds interesting! I didn’t enjoy his other book The White Tiger that much when I read it some time ago, but the blurb of this one sounds convincing.

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

