This Week In Books – 11.3.2015

ThisWeekInBooksThis meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…

i'm not scaredI’m reading I’m Not Scared by the Italian author Niccolo Ammaniti. Last year I read two of his novels and loved one … hated the other. So let’s hope this book falls into the former category! It is narrated by nine-year-old Michele Amitrano, who makes a horrifying discovery one day when out with his friends…

I am on about p40 and it’s really good so far. Watch this space for my review!

Then…basic eight

Yesterday I finished The Basic Eight by Daniel Handler. I read this years ago and I didn’t remember it too clearly. I’m sure I enjoyed it when I first read it, but it didn’t really do it for me this time around … I found it a bit tedious and the satirical side of the novel wore thin after a while.

things to makeI’ve also been reading Mr Bones by Paul Theroux, which is a collection of 20 short stories. I’m not a big fan of short stories but it was chosen by my book group, so I’ve been dipping in and out of it.

I also recently finished Things to Make and Mend by Ruth Thomas. I loved it – see my review here.

Next…

ketchup cloudsI’m going to give the Young Adult novel Ketchup Clouds by Annabel Pitcher a go. I also need to read Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut for my other book group!

What are you reading now, then and next?

2 thoughts on “This Week In Books – 11.3.2015

Leave a Reply

