This Week In Books – 18.2.2015

ThisWeekInBooksThis meme was set up by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Here is what I am reading now, then and next!

Now…

The BorrowerI’m reading The Borrower by Rebecca Makkai. The book is narrated by 26-year-old librarian Lucy – she is not your stereotypical librarian, and she finds herself on the run with 10-year-old Ian, who is escaping his thoroughly unpleasant God-fearing parents.  

I am absolutely loving this book so far and I’m desperate for a few uninterrupted hours to really get into it! But I’m off work this week as it’s half term, and with my chatterbox 6-year-old around this seems unlikely!

Then…girl in the polka dot dress

Earlier this week I finished The Girl in the Polka Dot Dress by Beryl Bainbridge. I wasn’t mad on this – you can read my review here. I also read The Mystery of Mercy Close by Marian Keyes for my book group, which I didn’t enjoy at all. So thank goodness for The Borrower which is restoring my faith in books after two baddies!

Next…

question markNext up I need to choose a book from by Re-Read Challenge. Can someone please suggest which one I should go for?

What are you reading now, then and next?

2 comments

  1. I’m very excited to hear that you’re loving The Borrower! I picked up a copy last year and it’s still on my “read next!” pile… a little motivation from another reader is a very good thing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

